Powershell Command to install a MSI with a MST

rated by 0 users
This post has 6 Replies | 4 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 2
Turn_360 Posted: 04-26-2012 9:07 AM

I am able to use the following commandline to install a MSI with the arguments I want

• {Start-Process -FilePath "msiexec.exe" -ArgumentList "/i TEST.msi /qb" -Wait -Passthru}

I am unable to get the commandline to work when I add an MST

• {Start-Process -FilePath "msiexec.exe" -ArgumentList "/i TEST.msi TRANSFORMS=`"TEST.mst`" /qb" -Wait -Passthru}

I have tried a few different options like /T instead of Transforms.  The PS1 is in the same folder as the MSI /MST.   What is the proper way to install a MSI with an MST using Powershell?

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 640

So, I'm not an MsiExec expert by any stretch. It looks to me like you've got the syntax right - escaped the internal double quotes and all - although I can't validate whether or not the syntax would actually work.

If you just ran the Msiexec command in Cmd.exe, would it work? Have you had the .PS1 explicitly change to the folder (using CD command) where it and the MSI/MST are located?

Not Ranked
Posts 2

Correct if I create a .CMD file, this command will work:

• msiexec.exe /i "TEST.msi" TRANSFORMS="TEST.mst" /qb!

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 640

And you're having the PS1 explicitly change into the proper folder, to make sure it's the "working folder," when it runs?

Beyond that I'm afraid I don't have any suggestions for you - I'm not able to test this in my own VMs to see what I can get it to do. 

I will suggest this: The PowerShell Community Extensions (PSCX) include a little command-line utility. You feed it your command, and it tells you how PowerShell is interpreting that and feeding it to Cmd.exe. That might help you see what's up.