Run a program as another user problem

rated by 0 users
This post has 5 Replies | 0 Followers

Top 500 Contributor
Posts 13
the_fallen Posted: 04-02-2012 1:09 PM

First of all, I'm new to both PowerShell and here. I'm learning PowerShell as well (still at the very beginning.).

That said, I'd like to expose a problem.

I'm using Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x86, and I have created a dedicated standard user account to run a tool from other standard user accounts.

At first, I tried to use Microsoft's own tool PsExec with a batch file, as follows:

@echo off

"C:\pathtopsexec\PsExec.exe" -d -e -u username -p password "C:\pathtodnscrypt\DNSCrypt.bat"

pause

What happened is that I get an error saying that it couldn't start the program because it couldn't login to the dedicated user account, either due to a wrong password or username. But, if I manually copy and paste that same command into an opened cmd line window, and press Enter, then it works and the program will start under those credentials.

Anyway, I decided that it would be best to have the credentials encrypted, so considering I'm not that great scripting with PowerShell yet, I looked around and found a script that will allow to me to set an encrypted file with the credentials, and then I use the following command to start the program using one of the scripts commands that allow to retrieve the credentials from the script file.

The command I entered in PowerShell (not in a script) is:

start-process "C:\pathtotool\dnscrypt-proxy.exe" -credential (.\PowerShellRunAs -get passwordfilename)

The problem is, that at the image of the batch file invoking PsExec, it will also present an error saying it couldn't start dnscrypt-proxy.exe tool, also due to either a wrong user name or password.

But, if I enter:

start-process "C:\pathtotool\dnscrypt-proxy.exe" -credential

Then, I'll be presented with the credentials window, and after I enter the credentials, then the tool with run as the other user. As it should.