Email info from imported .csv file to multiple users

rated by 0 users
This post has 1 Reply | 2 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 1
Bryson0311 Posted: 11-15-2011 12:40 PM

Hello,

I have to figure out how to email around 200 employees information from a .csv file (cell phone usage info). This is the format of how each user in the file looks when I import it. My Idea was to have powershell search active directory by either name or wireless number and then email the information to them. I have never used powershell before so I know only what I've picked up online the past few days. Any Ideas?

Billing Account Number                           : 012345678
Wireless Number                                    : (713) 555-5555
User Name                                             : ERICK ESPINOZA
Market Cycle End Date                           : Oct 08, 2011
Monthly Service Charges                        : $10.00
Usage Charges                                      : $0.00
Credits, Adjustments & Other Charges  : $0.76
Government Fees and Taxes                 : $0.89
Non-Communications Charges              : $0.00
Voice MOUs                                           : 0
Data Usage                                           : 0
Messaging Events                                 : 0

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 640

Sure. Let's say you wanted to use their Name, and let's assume it's the same as the Name attribute in AD, and that your AD "email" attribute is populated with their e-mail address. My example uses the ActiveDirectory module for Win2008R2/Win7:

Import-Module ActiveDirectory
$users = Import-CSV filename.csv
foreach ($user in $users) {
  $aduser = Get-ADUser -filter {name -eq $user.name }
  $email = $aduser.email
  Send-MailMessage -BodyAsHTML -Body ($user | ConvertTo-HTML) -To $email -From "whoever@company.com"