$(yntax)

rated by 0 users
This post has 7 Replies | 5 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 2
Chadrat Posted: 11-11-2011 2:06 AM

Don,

First, thanks for all that you do for the community. You've been one of my favorite since I started learning PowerShell and I really appreciate all the effort you put into teaching as well as the material you produce.

Now on to my question. I was recently writing a script to process some data from a CSV file using Import-CSV. I was having an issue so I went out and looked for an example that I could use. The example I found used syntax that I haven't seen explained but seems to be used frequently and I was hoping you could explain. I've simplified the example as it really is the syntax that throws me.

What is with the "$()" syntax wrapping the column1 value as both methods seem to work just fine?

foreach($Line in $CSVFile)
{
$Column1 = "$($line.Column1)"
$Column2 = $line.Column2
}

Regards,
Chad

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 640

Yeah, I really need to do a blog article on that syntax. For some reason I'm seeing it more and more.

So, here's the short of it: The $ isn't part of a variable name, ever. It's actually a cue to the shell that what follows is a variable name. So when the shell sees a $, either alone or within double quotes, it knows that whatever comes next needs special treatment.

Parentheses work just like they do in algebra: They tell the shell to "execute this first." 

So when the shell sees...

$Column1 = "$($line.Column1)"

It says, "ok, there's something after this first dollar sign I need to pay attention to. Ah, it's parentheses - I need to execute that expression." So it's kinda, sorta, a "parser hack" rather than "this is syntax everyone can and should use." Not that it's unsupported - it's definitely a supported syntax - but it's not necessarily something I think the PowerShell team was hoping everyone would use.

Why would you use it? Consider this:

$Column1 = "$line.Column1"