Import-CSV to custom object or Delete first line of .csv file

rated by 0 users
This post has 5 Replies | 2 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 6
cmcknz77 Posted: 04-01-2009 8:11 PM

Hi peops,

I've come across a wee problem that I can't get my head around and I was hoping that someone here might be able to help.  I'm a complete newbie to powershell (and scripting generally), but am very excited about the possiblities it appears to be able to offer.

I've managed to create (plagiarised a bit from a web page here and purloined a snippet from a blog there - you know how it goes) a little script that uses Get-WMIObject to retrieve the total space and freespace of all of the hard disk volumes of all the servers (around 20'ish) in my environment (listed in a local file called Server.txt) into a custom object and then uses Export-CSV to write it and the date to a CSV file.

I'd like the script to read in the CSV file when it starts, if it exists, and then append the result to the end of the same CSV file.  If I could schedule it to run regularly, this would allow me as a server administrator to have just one CSV file that I could look at to (possibly using excel) track storage trends on all of my servers at once and enable the possibility of better "storage planning".  However, I've hit upon a problem.

I don't appear to be able to use Import-CSV to import the contents of the CSV directly into a custom object without using the -header parameter.

I can't use the -header parameter for Import-CSV because the column titles for the .CSV file will end up being incorrectly imported as a record of data unless I can find some way to just delete the first line from the file before importing it using Import-CSV.